Pridie’s Health Insurance Costs Rise 44%

I didn’t write about the Hudson signing, because reading about it rendered me unconscious in shock of the Twins actually addressing one of their major holes. Damn. The Twins did something.

Today, in a surprise move, we learned that Jason Pridie had been placed on waivers to make space, and in a bigger surprise, he had been claimed by the Mets.

Pridie has been, to put it mildly, useless in his two major league call-ups. Both times he failed to hit and both times he made an error that almost single-handedly lost a game. I can’t fault him too badly, as that sort of thing usually happens during a call-up, but still. He didn’t exactly impress. Still, I wish him luck as a Metropolitan, where he will most likely end up the starting CF, what with the massive proficiency of the Mets doctors.

Hope he can get some private health insurance, what with the skyrocketing rates and all, but I wouldn’t bet on it. He now has a pre-existing condition: signing a contract with the Mets.

Remember, you can follow me on Twitter at @calltothepen.

2 Responses

  1. It will be interesting to see how the roster shakes out,Bull Pen has no long reliever yet? Perkins/Duensing/Liriano.
    Back up for Span in Center Field appears to be Punto at least for now?

  2. I’m not so worried about long relief; that’s what Guerrier used to do before he got pressed into set-up. With Rauch and Crain on the squad this season, I expect that Guerrier moves back into that position. As of now I expect Liri to be the fifth starter, with Perkins traded or released and Duensing starting in Rochester.

    Yeah, Punto, followed by Tolbert, will be the backup CF. No good options there; hopefully Jacque Jones (Frenchy) works out well. If he does, I could see him taking a roster spot as 4th/5th outfielder. Next week I’ll be going over the 40-man and check on who will probably be with the club. I’m assuming that Casilla will be gone, but I need to take some time to look at it.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

