How sports satire nearly killed me.

Dear Diary,

The other day I got an email from a Minnesotan about his website that he and a friend had just relaunched. Well, I was curious, so I went ahead and checked it out. Unfortunately, I was unable to immediately enjoy the site, because it almost killed me. You see, I was eating pineapple straight from the can, and when I saw the headline “Word Series Trophy Bored in Philly,” I almost choked to death.

No, seriously. Other front-page headlines included: “Joey Flacco’s Eyebrows file for Separation,” “Prince Fielder to Conduct Extensive Studies on Maple Syrup,” and “MRI Proves Carmelo Anthony is Selfish.”

It’s like the Onion for sports (well, lets be honest, the Onion has never been any good at satirizing sports, so this is really better for the purposes of this blog). It is called Sports on a Stick, and is co-founded by two Minnesotans: Sam Testa and Ben Malmo. Not only is it a great site, it is a good chance to really support a venture put together by fellow Minnesotans (that, and I am rather excited to see what (if anything) they have to say about Delmon Young and Carlos Gomez this year).

So, go check it out: http://sportsonastick.com. Or you could click on their link on the sidebar.

Either way, it’ll do your body good.

Leave a Reply

