Hmm… Outrage doesn’t seem to cover it…

What do you get your beloved for your 62nd anniversary? Is it Gold? China? I know the 60th is Diamond, but I can’t think of anything better than that… There has to be something we can do! Oh, I have an idea!

Why don’t we have everyone in baseball wear your number for one day?! That seems like a great way to commemorate it!

I’m sorry. I may be burned out and cynical from the paper I am writing for law school (creationism in public education), but I can’t help but think that MLB is turning to platitudes – and public relations stunts – to commemmorate the breaking of the color barrier. Why in the world would else would Bud Selig declare that EVERYONE should wear number 42 this Tax Day (read: April 15). And why shouldn’t they? 62 is a nice round number. Just like 17, and 91, and 34. Geez, what else can we celebrate? I know… let’s all celebrate the day the first hot dog was sold at the first ballpark! We can all dress up like Oscar Meyer Weiners and then engage in a bizarre form of cannibalism as we consume dome dogs by the pound! Those condiment races would certainly come in handy on that day!

Okay, all kidding aside. Stop. Just. Stop. You are cheapening the achievement of Jackie Robinson with all your constant yearly memorials and commemorations and whatnot. I know this is the “big opening” of the Jackie Robinson rotunda at Citi Field, but seriously, have the damn Mets all wear number 42. You are telling me it is necessary to have players on teams that didn’t exist in 1947 wear a number that no one on the team has ever been allowed to wear, just so baseball can sell a few more tickets in the name of nostalgia and profits? I’m sure it means a lot to the all the D-back and Rays fans out there.

Should I be extra cynical and wager that the uniforms will be auctioned off for some charity after the game? The profits will go to some charity, but the publicity is good as gold for MLB.

Seriously.

Give me a break.

Bud Selig, you just made my list.

2 Responses

  1. You are so correct with this.

    As a matter of fact, the more this is celebrated 60+ years after the fact, the more it indicates that the “color barrier” is not broken. By now, it should be given that the “color barrier” is broken… but not

  2. […] I noted the racism inherent to Bud Selig’s pandering. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

