Bold Predictions

As tonight is the first of many spring training games and is effectively the beginning of baseball season, I think it is time for some bold predictions, to rip off Andrew over at Twins Fix. His predictions are extremely positive, which I like. I’m not so positive, but I’ll see where this goes.

BTW, I have a post on Crede pending, that will likely go up tonight or tomorrow… sorry for the long delay; I’ve been really busy with a 32-page (!) paper and then catching up from neglected studies from during paper season.

So…

2009 (Sorta) BOLD Predictions

  1. Justin Morneau’s average and OBP will regress, but his power numbers will increase enough such that his OPS actually increases. I am thinking 30-33 home runs this year.
  2. Buscher and Harris will get at least 200 ABs at third base, whether because of injury or just lots of days off (or, lets be honest, the Twins being cheap and wanting to avoid incentive pay).
  3. Casilla regresses at the plate such that Harris ends up spending significant time at second base.
  4. There will be NO thumb injuries attributable to sliding into first base (Dear Lord, I hope so).
  5. The standard outfield, despite my best hopes, will not include Young over Cuddyer.
  6. Kubel will continue to get screwed out of ABs versus left-handed pitchers (okay, fine, this one isn’t exactly bold).
  7. Between Gomez, Span, Casilla, and Punto there will be 220+ steals this year.
  8. Gardenhire will come up with at least 3 more effeminate and/or politically incorrect nicknames (See: Cassie (Casilla), Blackie)
  9. Mauer not only improves on last year’s average, he hits 15+ home runs (this’ll be the year, dammit).
  10. Breslow, rather than regressing, demonstrates a continuing mastery of both quantum mechanics and American League hitters.
3 Responses

  1. I like these, Eric. Pretty positive predictions, but we obviously disagree about Crede. I sure can see the Twins being cheap, though.

    Thanks for the link.

  2. Thanks, Andrew, glad you liked them. I still don’t know how I feel about the Crede thing… eh. We’ll see how it turns out, I guess. I am excited to see him play this weekend, though.

  3. Nice predictions. Good luck on the paper.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

